Our award-winning Graduate Management Training Scheme (GMTS) has produced inspirational NHS leaders since 1956. Notable alumni include Sir Simon Stevens, current Chief Executive of NHS England, and Peter Homa, former Chair of the NHS Leadership Academy.

It’s fair to say the opportunities we create are life-defining for the graduates we recruit. And now more than ever, our leaders will be tasked with redefining the NHS. Every trainee you host at your organisation has the potential to solve huge challenges and raise the profile of leaders in healthcare.

The future of the NHS relies on strong leadership and clear direction. By hosting a trainee, you can help us nurture the next generation of high quality, compassionate and inclusive NHS leaders. 

Watch our videos below to see Sir Simon Stevens share his thoughts on why you should get involved and hear Jane Haire explain the benefits University Hospitals North Midlands NHS Trust gained from hosting a Graduate Management Trainee.

How it works

GMTS is unique, unrivalled and prestigious. It combines successful leadership strategies from international healthcare and private sector organisations, along with academic expert content.

Fast-tracking graduates who want to develop their career within the health service, it provides mentoring, support and high-quality non-clinical training over approximately two years. Giving trainees the chance to become successful leaders in the NHS, it’s crucial in sustaining the talent pipeline.

Each trainee specialises in one of six specialisms:

• Finance Management
• General Management
• Health Analysis
• Health Informatics Management
• Human Resources Management
• Policy and Strategy Management

They also undertake placements, complete a PGCert in Healthcare Leadership and undertake additional professional qualifications within their specialist area.

How to get involved

Download our eBook or if your organisation is interested in hosting a trainee, contact your Local Leadership Academy for more information.

Regional area Contact name Email address

East Midlands and

West Midlands

Victoria Richardson Victoria.Richardson@leadershipacademy.nhs.uk
East of England

Pat Cotton  

Wendy Parry 

Pat.Cotton@leadershipacademy.nhs.uk 

Wendy.Parry@nhs.net  

Kent, Surrey and Sussex

Helen Edmunds

helen.edmunds@leadershipacademy.nhs.uk

London

Kashmira Sunni

Keith Whitburn

Kashmira.sunni@leadershipacademy.nhs.uk

keith.whitburn@leadershipacademy.nhs.uk

North East

Deborah Whalen

Deborah.whalen1@nhs.net

North West North West GMTS team nwla.gmtsnw@nhs.net 
South West Zoe Spittle Zoe.Spittle@leadershipacademy.nhs.uk
Thames Valley and Wessex

Helen Edmunds

helen.edmunds@leadershipacademy.nhs.uk

Yorkshire and the Humber

 

 

John Hunter

Amy Makler

John.Hunter@leadershipacademy.nhs.uk

Amy.Makler@leadershipacademy.nhs.uk

General enquiries  

graduateenquiries@leadershipacademy.nhs.uk